Mission Statement: 

The USC Department of Psychology is committed to principles of diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice in all aspects of functioning, including teaching, mentoring, research, and interactions among students, post-docs, staff, and faculty. We recognize that minoritized groups continue to be excluded from opportunities in higher education in the United States – perpetuating cycles of inequity that impact communities around the world. We also acknowledge our field has been complicit in many harms against Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), and that is incumbent on graduate training programs in psychology to take corrective action.

We stand against historical precedents of racism and discrimination in our field by endorsing the ethical principles of antiracism outlined in the American Psychological Association’s Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion framework.

“An accessible, equitable, and inclusive psychology that promotes human rights, fairness, and dignity for all.”

CLIMATE, our committee on diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI), was created to make continual strides toward equity through our doctoral training, recruitment, and department culture.

Committee on Leadership In Multicultural Advancement & Training for Everyone (CLIMATE)

Diversity, equity, inclusion, and anti-racism are core values within the USC Department of Psychology. The Committee on Leadership In Multicultural Advancement & Training for Everyone (CLIMATE) was created to see these values actualized in our curriculum, teaching, research, and program culture. CLIMATE aims to critically evaluate the processes by which we recruit, mentor, and train students and create structural changes that align these processes with the values of diversity, equity, and justice. We also seek to host events, disseminate resources, and lead discussions that promote a sense of belongingness within our department. Additionally, we strive to encourage our students, faculty, and staff to grow in their understanding of issues related to diversity and equity.

CLIMATE is comprised of three subcommittees:


Curriculum and Training Subcommittee 

Aim: Improve the integration of diversity, equity, and inclusion into our departments’ graduate curriculum, teaching, and research training

Faculty and Student Members:

Iony D. Ezawa, Ph.D, Armin Bazarjani, Anh Dao, Gabriel León


Retention and Belongingness Committee (RBC)

Aim: Advance practices and policies that promote cultural humility, antiracism, and belongingness among students and faculty in our department

Faculty and Student Members: 

Brittany Beasley, Ph.D, Santiago Morales, Ph.D, Yema Conteh, Kevin Kapadia, Aarthi Ganapathi, Adrelys Mateo Santana, Alexa Monachino, Ellie Xu


Equitable Recruitment Committee (ERC)

Aim: Continue to increase the diversity and representation of individuals from minoritized groups in our department

Faculty and Student Members:

Chris Beam, Ph.D, Mark Lai, Ph.D, Alyssa Kam, Phil Newsome, Daisy Noriega-Makarskyy, Matthew Pilgrim, Emily Satinsky, Elayne Zhou

CLIMATE Resources

CLIMATE has put together the following resources