Department News

Ian Anderson

Congratulations to Ian Anderson for receiving the USC Dornsife’s 2023 Communicator of the Year Award. This award honors scholars who contribute significant time and effort to meaningfully improve the public’s understanding of issues, influence policy, and/or raise the level of public discourse around research and scholarship conducted at Dornsife.

Check out Darby Saxbe’s Op-Ed out in the New York Times! She wrote about teen mental health treatment and the iatrogenic effects of some programs.

Hanna and Antonio Damasio were featured in a Q&A in Neuron. They discuss the value of single case studies for neuroscience, consciousness research and the limits of AI, and the fascinating relationship between creativity and the brain.

Asaf Mazar

Asaf Mazar won the best student led paper in 2022 SPSP Student Publication Award for his paper: The Unintentional Nonconformist: Habits Promote Resistance to Social influence.

Please join me in congratulating new faculty member Dr. Iony Ezawa on receiving the very prestigious Marna Barrett Award for Excellence in Psychotherapy at the Society for Psychotherapy Research Annual Meeting held in Dublin, Ireland in the summer of 2023.

Congratulations to Henny Moll on receiving the 2023 American Psychological Foundation (APF) Joseph B. Gittler Award. This award is to recognize psychologists who are making and will continue to make scholarly contributions to the philosophical foundations of psychological knowledge.

Katie Galbraith

Congratulations to Katie Galbraith on receiving the APA Dissertation Research Award for 2023. This is a prestigious award that Katie received in recognition of her promising contribution to psychological science. Katie is from the Clinical Area, and she worked with Stan Huey.

Greg Flores

Congratulations to Greg Flores on receiving a SPOT Award from Dornsife! Greg was nominated by Christine Patugan, the Deputy Director of Departmental Operations in the Business Office. Greg works behind the curtains, but he does an incredible job managing our business transactions. He provides support above and beyond his regular duties, and this award is well deserved!