Administration of Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures is located at Taper Hall

Sonya Lee
Department Chair


Brian Bernards
Director of Graduate Studies


Kerim Yasar
Director of Undergraduate Studies


Yi-Hsien Liu
Director of Chinese Language Program


Yuka Kumagai
Director of Japanese Language Program


Yuka Kumagai & Yi-Hsien Liu
Directors of Korean Language Program,


Christine Shaw
Program Administrator


Julianne Vu
Program Specialist


Jessica Kanoski
Assistant Director*
*Advisor for First-year EALC majors (Freshmen, entry term Fall 2023 and Spring 2024)


Brianna Beltran
Undergraduate Student Advisor*
*Advisor for continuing students (transfer, U2-U4) and EALC minors