USC Sea Grant has an active and interested Advisory Council. We work to keep our Council informed about our research and outreach progress and consult with members on an annual basis.


Current Advisory Council Members

Mariela Paz Carpio-Obeso
Division of Drinking Water
State Water Resources Control Board
Capt. J. Kipling Louttit
Executive Director
Marine Exchange of Southern California
Candice Dickens-Russell
President and CEO
Friends of the Los Angeles River
Chris Mobley
Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary
Mas Dojiri
Assistant General Manager
City of Los Angeles Sanitation & Environment
Craig Moyer
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP
John Dorsey
Professor of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science
Loyola Marymount University
Lisa Gilbane
Environmental Analysis Section Chief
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
Lesley Ewing
Senior Coastal Engineer (retired; consultant)
California Coastal Commission
Rebecca Smyth
West Coast Director/Regional Division Chief
NOAA Office for Coastal Management
Russell Galipeau
Superintendent (retired)
Channel Islands National Park; Lecturer,
California State University Channel Islands
Guangyu Wang
Chief Administrative Director (retired)
Santa Monica Bay Restoration Commission
Mark Gold
Former Executive Director
Ocean Protection Council
Stephen Weisberg
Executive Director
Southern California Coastal Water Research Project
Jenny Krusoe
Executive Director
AltaSea at the Port of Los Angeles