Contact Us

School Directory

Administrative Offices
Reception Desk
VKC 330
213-740-2136
Office of Student Affairs
Reception Desk
VKC 301
213-740-6278
Fax 213-742-0281
E-Mail sir@dornsife.usc.edu
U.S. Mailing Address 3518 Trousdale Parkway
VKC 330, University Park
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0043

Academic Advising Staff

Please direct questions and requests relating to the doctoral program in politics & international relations (POIR) to Veridiana Chavarin, vchavari@usc.edu

For information on any of our international relations joint masters programs please contact Luda Spilewsky, ludas@usc.edu

Queries on international relations undergraduate programs should be directed to undergraduate advisors, Katrina Miranda, kcmirand@usc.edu, Annie Lam, annielam@usc.edu, or Luda Spilewsky, ludas@usc.edu

Staff Directory

MembersOffice Location Telephone
E-Mail
Robert English
Director
VKC 330A

213-821-3090
renglish@usc.edu


Annie Lam
Undergraduate Advisor (Last names P-Z)
VKC 301B 213-740-8630
annielam@usc.edu
Linda Cole
Associate Director
VKC 330B 213-740-2139
lcole@usc.edu
Christina M. Gray
Assistant Director (Programs)
VKC 330D 213-740-6014
grayc@usc.edu
Katrina Miranda
Undergraduate Advisor (Last names A-G)
VKC 301A 213-740-0772
kcmirand@usc.edu
Luda Spilewsky
Graduate Staff & Undergraduate Advisor (Last names H-O)
VKC 301C 213-740-8629
ludas@usc.edu
Karen Tang
Office Technology Coord.
VKC 330C 213-740-0043
khtang@usc.edu

Faculty Directory

Tenure-Track Faculty

Joshua Aizenman, Ph.D.
Robert R. and Katheryn A. Dockson Chair in Economics and International Relations and Professor of International Relations and Economics
Email: aizenman@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2136
Jonathan Aronson, Ph.D.
Professor of International Relations and Communication
Research Areas: International political economy
Email: jaronson@usc.edu
Office: ASC 324G
Phone: (213) 743-4647
Laurie Brand, Ph.D.
Robert Grandford Wright Professor and Professor of International Relations and Middle East Studies
Research Areas: National narrative construction. Migration, citizenship and diaspora. State-expatriate relations. Voting from abroad. Middle East and North African affairs; Inter-Arab politics.
Email: brand@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-3651
Andrew Coe, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of International Relations
Email: acoe@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2139
Robert English, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of International Relations
Research Areas: International foreign policy & defense analysis; Regional studies - Russia, the former USSR & Eastern Europe
Email: renglish@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 821-3090
  Benjamin A.T. Graham, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of International Relations
Email: benjamag@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2136
Jacques Hymans, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of International Relations
Email: hymans@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-8837
Patrick James, Ph.D.
Dean's Professor of International Relations
Research Areas: Foreign Policy Analysis, Ethnopolitics, Security Studies, Canadian Politics, Quantitative Methods, Conflict & Intervention; Regional studies - Canada
Email: patrickj@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 821-4114
David Kang, Ph.D.
Professor of International Relations and Business
Email: kangdc@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 821-4319
Saori Katada
Associate Professor of International Relations
Research Areas: Japanese foreign policy; International political economy; Regional studies - Pacific Rim
Email: skatada@usc.edu
Office: VKC 309
Phone: (213) 740-8542
Steven Lamy
Professor of International Relations
Research Areas: International relations theory; Foreign policy analysis; Regional studies - Europe
Email: lamy@usc.edu
Office: ADM 304
Phone: (213) 740-2531
Daniel Lynch, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of International Relations
Research Areas: International relations of East and Southeast Asia; domestic politics and foreign policies of China, Taiwan, and Thailand; state-society relations; democratization; socialization into the international society of states
Email: dlynch@usc.edu
Office: VKC 326
Phone: (213) 740-0773
  Jonathan Mark, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of International Relations
Email: jonathnm@usc.edu
Gerardo Munck, Ph.D.
Professor of International Relations
Research Areas: Democracy, comparative politics, methods, measurement
Email: munck@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 821-2720
Brian Rathbun, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of International Relations
Research Areas: International relations theory; international organizations; human rights; European politics; European integration; party politics; ideology and foreign policy; American foreign policy; political psychology; negotiation and bargaining
Email: brathbun@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-8840
Wayne Sandholtz, Ph.D.
John A. McCone Chair in International Relations and Professor of International Relations and Law
Email: wayne.sandholtz@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-9057
  Mary Sarotte, Ph.D.
Professor of International Relations and History and Dean's Professor of History
Research Areas: Please see above and CV
Email: sarotte@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-3480
Carol Wise, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of International Relations
Research Areas: International political economy; institutional reform; international development; Latin American politics and economics; Interdevelopment; China-Latin American relations
Email: cwise@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2138

 

Professors of the Practice in International Relations

 

Carol Atkinson, Ph.D.
Professor of the Practice of International Relations
Email: carol@usc.edu
Office: 3518 TROUSDALE PARKWAY
John Eatwell, Ph.D.
Professor of the Practice of International Relations and Economics
Research Areas: Financial regulation, Theory of Value, Distribution
Email: eatwell@usc.edu
  Jeffrey Fields, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of the Practice of International Relations
Email: jrfields@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Geoffrey Wiseman, Ph.D.
Professor of the Practice of International Relations
Research Areas: 1. Diplomatic theory and practice. 2. International security, including U.S. foreign and security policy. 3. Asia-Pacific regional security, including Australia. 4. The United Nations
Email: gwiseman@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2136

 

Teaching Faculty

 

Douglas Becker, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (Teaching) of International Relations
Research Areas: Peace and Conflict Studies International Organizations International Criminal Court Pedagogy and Active Learning Historical Memory
Email: dfbecker@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 821-2856
Iva Bozovic, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Email: bozovic@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 821-3002
  Shannon Gibson, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Email: smgibson@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2136
  Maura Godinez
Lecturer
Email: mauragod@usc.edu
Office: VKC 343
Phone: (213) 740-7736
  Fayez Hammad, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Email: fhammad@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2136
  Kristie Inman, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Email: kristiei@usc.edu
  Kenneth Macdonald, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Email: scotkip@utla.net
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2136
  Evis Mezini, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Email: mezini@usc.edu
  Jessica Peet, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Email: jlpeet@gmail.com
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2136
  Nina Rathbun, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Teaching) of International Relations
Email: nrathbun@usc.edu
Office: VKC 304
Phone: (213) 740-8895
  Sparsha Saha, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Email: sparshas@usc.edu
Pamela Starr, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Teaching) of International Relations
Research Areas: Mexican Politics and Foreign Policy; US-Mexican Relations; Public Diplomacy in the Americas; Comparative Political Economy of Latin America
Email: pkstarr@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-4122

 

Affiliated Faculty

 

Manuel Castells
University Professor, Wallis Annenberg Chair of Communication Techonology and Society and Professor of Communication, Sociology, Planning, and International Relations
Email: castells@usc.edu
Office: ASC 332C
Phone: (213) 821-5386
Nicholas Cull
Professor of Communication and International Relations
  Najmedin Meshkati
Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Systems Engineering, and International Relations
Email: meshkati@usc.edu
  Michael Parks
Professor of Journalism and International Relations
Email: mparks@usc.edu
Philip Seib
Professor of Journalism and International Relations

 

Professors Emeritus and Emerita

 

  Gerald Bender
Associate Professor Emeritus of International Relations
Research Areas: U.S. foreign policy analysis; Regional studies - Africa
Email: bender@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2127
Peter Berton
Professor Emeritus of International Relations
  Norman Fertig
Professor Emeritus of International Relations
Michael Fry
Professor Emeritus of International Relations
Gary Glass, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of the Practice of International Relations
Research Areas: American National Security, Foreign Policy, and Political Process; International Arms Control and Security; Secruity Affairs; Regional studies: Russia & Asia
Email: wglass@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (310) 580-4860
Abe Lowenthal
Professor Emeritus of International Relations
Research Areas: U.S. foreign policy analysis; Regional studies - Latin America & the Caribbean
Email: afl@usc.edu
  Charles McClelland
Professor Emeritus of International Relations
John Odell, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of International Relations
Research Areas: International political economy; International bargaining & negotiating
Email: odell@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-4298
Ronald Steel
Professor Emeritus of International Relations
Research Areas: International history; U.S. Foreign policy analysis; Regional studies - Europe; Public opinion; 20th century U.S. history
Office: VKC 304
Phone: (213) 740-0774
  Rodger Swearingen
Professor Emeritus of International Relations
Phone: (213) 740-3222
Judith Tickner, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita of International Relations
Research Areas: International theory, peace & security studies; international political economy; gender studies
Email: tickner@usc.edu
Office: VKC 330
Phone: (213) 740-2136

 

 

Videos

A World of Learning

A World of Learning

Watch this & more videos >

Videos

Emily Yu - Overseas Student

Emily Yu - Overseas Student

Watch this & more videos >

Videos

True Colors in the Autumn Years

True Colors in the Autumn Years

Watch this & more videos >

  • School of International Relations
  • 3518 Trousdale Parkway
  • Von KleinSmid Center 330
  • Los Angeles, CA 90089-0043
  • Phone: (213) 740 - 2136