Principal Investigator

Professor and P.I.

Dr. Lisa Aziz Zadeh

Dr. Lisa Aziz-Zadeh is a Professor at the University of Southern California, in the Brain and Creativity Institute, and in the Department of Occupational Science. She studies social cognition from a cognitive neuroscience perspective, using techniques including functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging (fMRI) and Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS).

Email: lisa.azizzadeh@usc.edu

Post Doc. Fellows

Post Doctorate Researcher

Akila Kadambi

Akila Kadambi is a postdoctoral researcher studying neural correlates of the self, others, and their connection (empathy and social reasoning), emerging at the bodily/sensorimotor level. She received her PhD from UCLA in 2022. She is primarily involved in the Otherness and Belonging studies.

Email: akadambi@ucla.edu, kadambi@usc.edu

Graduate Students

PhD Candidate

Aditya “AJ” Jayashankar

AJ is a graduate student at the Chan Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy. His research interests relate to the improvement of diagnostic specificity through the use of multi-modal neuroimaging techniques in conjunction with neuropsychological testing to better understand how social, sensorimotor and cognitive learning network deficits contribute to distinguishing between different ASD subtypes.

Email: jayashan@usc.edu

PhD Student

Sofronia Ringold

Sofronia is an Occupational Science PhD Student in the Chan Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy.  Her research interests focus on Autism Spectrum Disorder, neuroscience, and the gut microbiome. Prior to beginning the PhD program she worked as a Clinical Research Coordinator in the Division of Emergency and Transport Medicine at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles. She is a graduate of Occidental College with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and a minor in Biology.

Email: sringold@usc.edu

Doctorate of Occ. Therapy Student

Shruti Kamath

….

 

Email: shrutsik@gmail.com

Graduate Research Assistants

Tom Williamson

University of the West of England|University of Oxford

Program: PhD Linguistics

contact: t.williamson@uwe.ac.uk

Miel Krauss

University of Southern California

Program: Entry-Level Doctorate of Occupational Therapy (eOTD)

contact: mjkrauss@usc.edu

Fernanda Loureiro

Potifícia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul

Program: PhD Neuroscience

contact: fernanda0801@gmail.com

Amarra Olado

University of Southern California

program: Entry-Level Doctorate of Occupational Therapy (eOTD)

contact: olado@usc.edu

Brooke Barry

University of California Los Angeles

program: Physiological Science/Music Performance

contact: brookelbarry1@gmail.com

Undergraduate Research Assistants

Tarun Seera

Western Washington University

Biology and Anthropology

contact: seerat@wwu.edu

Faiz Ahmed

University of Southern California

Computational Neuroscience and Economics

contact: faizahme@usc.edu

Angel Nim

University of Southern California

Biological Sciences

contact: angelnim@usc.edu

Liliana Adzich

University of Southern California

Human Bio.

contact: ladzich@usc.edu

Taran Gupta

University of Southern California

Biological Sciences, M.S. in Global Medicine

contact: trgupta@usc.edu

Natalie Putzel

University of Southern California

Biological Sciences (Biotech)

contact: n/a

Myesha Mohiuddin

University of Southern California

Health and Human Sciences

contact: mmohiudd@usc.edu

Akhil Ganti

University of Southern California

Biochemistry

contact: aganti@usc.edu

Nicole Lu

University of Southern California

Computational Neuroscience

contact: nylu@usc.edu

Simran Goel

University of Southern California

Health Promotion and Disease Prevention

contact: simrango@usc.edu

Lab Alumni

Nandita Raman

Dr. Emily Kilroy

Dr. Christiana Butera 

Dr. Glenn Fox

Dr. Panthea Heydari

Dr. Vesna Gamez-Djokic

Dr. Tong Sheng

Dr. Mona Sobhani 

Dr. Lei Liew

 

Dr. Kathleen A. Garrison

 

Dr. Julie Werner 

 

 

Riley McGuire, OTR/L

Dr. Laura Harrison  

Chan Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy

The CeNEC lab also operates under the Chan Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy.

Contact Us

Brain and Creativity Institute

3620A McClintock Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90089-2921

Center for the Neuroscience of Embodied Cognition

3620A McClintock Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90089-2921