Former CAMS graduate student Mihaela Ignatova is awarded the 2020 AWM-Sadosky Research Prize in analysis

Click here for more information


We are sad to report that the founding Director of CAMS, H. Thomas Banks passed away on December 31, 2019.

Click here for more information


CAMS Director Susan Friedlander is awarded the 2019 Raubenheimer award for advancing research and scholarship.



Former CAMS Prize winner Vlad Vicol receives the 2019 Clay Research Award.

Together with Tristan Buckmaster and Philip Isett, Vlad received this prestigious award for their work on fluid dynamics.

Click here for more information


CAMS Member Juhi Jang receives the 2019 SIMONS Fellowship

Click Here for more information

Spring 2019

CAMS Board Member Michael Waterman is Elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors

Click here for more information

Fall 2018

Gary Rosen and Susan Luczak are awarded a highly selective NIH/RO1 grant from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse.

Click here for more information

Fall 2018

We welcome two new faculty to CAMS and the Math Department

Associate Professor Greta Panova
Assistant Professor Yu Deng

Among their other awards are IMO Medals

Greta Panova (a gold and two silver medals)

Yu Deng (a gold medal and a Putnam Fellow)

Summer 2018

The 2018 MSRI emissary newsletter has an item “Focus on the Scientist: Robert Guralnick “

Click here for the article.

Click here for more information.

Spring 2018

Susan Friedlander will attend the General Assembly of the International Mathematical Union

Susan Friedlander will represent the Mathematical Council of the Americas at the 2018 General Assembly of the International Mathematical  Union in Sao Paolo.

Summer 2018

Igor Kukavica selected a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society

Fall 2017

Susan Friedlander, the Chair of the MCofA Executive Committee

Susan welcomes the participants and opens the 2017 Mathematical Congress of the Americas in Montreal.

For more information click here.

Fall 2017

Shanghua Teng is appointed a University Professor

CAMS Board Member Shanghua Teng joins a group of exceptional USC faculty members who are designated by the President as University Professor.

Spring 2017

USC in the TOP TEN Schools for a Degree in Applied Mathematics

USA TODAY published a list of the top 10 schools for applied mathematics in the US. USC was number 7. The list comes from College Factual and is a ranking of colleges based on their overall quality.

Spring, 2016

A Workshop organised by Peter Constantin, Natasa Pavlovic and Vlad Vicol on current developments in fluid dynamics will be held at ICERM at Brown on the occasion of Susan Friedlander’s birthday.

Fall 2016

Solomon Golomb, In Memoriam, 1932-2016

With much sadness we record the death of CAMS Board Member Solomon Golomb. A wonderful Colleague whose ground breaking work on cryptography and other branches of mathematics was recognized by numerous prizes and awards, including the National Medal of Science.

Spring 2016

Susan Friedlander Member of the MIT Visiting Committee

CAMS Director Susan Friedlander is appointed to the MIT Visiting Committee for the Mathematics Department.

Spring 2016

Solomon Golomb awarded the 2016 Franklin Medal

CAMS Board Member Solomon Golomb is awarded the 2016 Franklin Medal for his work in digital communications.

Spring 2016