Current Academic Appointments:
Dean’s Professor of Mathematics, University of Southern California (and Henry S. Noyes Professor of Mathematics, Northwestern University – emeritus)
Chair of the Mathematics Department at the University of Southern California
Chair of the U.S. National Committee/Mathematics
Retiring Chair of the Mathematics Section of AAAS
Founding member of the Board of Governors of TPSE Math
Co-managing editor of the Journal of Pure and Applied Algebra (Serving on various other editorial boards)

Previous Designations:
Chair of the Northwestern Department of Mathematics for two terms
Associate Dean of Science at the Weinberg College
Served a myriad of committees at the Northwestern University. Chaired reviews of Graduate School, the Law School, and the Office of Administration and Planning, while on the Program Review Council

Roles at the American Mathematical Society:
Immediate Past President, 2013-14
Committee on Education, 2012 –
President, 2011 – 2013
President-elect, 2010
Committee on the Profession, 2009 – 2010
Committee on Publications, 2005 – 2008
Selection Committee, Cole Prize, 2005
Committee on Committees, 2005 – 2007 (Chair 2006)
Board of Trustees of the A.M.S., 2000 – (Chair 2003,08)
Nominating Committee, 1995-98 (Chair 1997)
Committee on Science Policy, 1991-93, 2000-05, 2012 – (Chair)
Committee on the Publication Program, 1989-92
Committee on Summer Institutes and Special Symposia, 1985-87

Curriculum Vitae