Faculty


Biological Sciences has more than 60 full-time faculty members, as well as more than 20 faculty with joint appointments and 15 visiting or adjunct professors. Among its many distinctions and honors, the Ph.D. program faculty includes two members of the National Academy of Sciences, four members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and 18 holders of endowed chairs and professorships.


Alber, Frank   alber@usc.edu   (213) 740-0778
Amend, Jan   janamend@usc.edu   (213) 740-0652
Aparicio, Oscar   oaparici@usc.edu   (213) 821-1269
Arbib, Michael   arbib@pollux.usc.edu   (213) 740-9220
Arnheim, Norman   arnheim@usc.edu   (213) 740-7675
Arnold, Donald   darnold@usc.edu   (213) 821-1266
Baker, Bob   baker@usc.edu   (213) 740-5565
Bancroft, Christa   cbancrof@usc.edu   (213) 740-5553
Boedicker, James   boedicke@usc.edu   (213) 740-1104
Boehm, Christopher   cboehm1@msn.com   (213) 740-0524
Bogart, Stephanie   sbogart@usc.edu   (213) 821-8340
Bottjer, David   dbottjer@usc.edu   (213) 740-6100
Bottjer, Sarah   bottjer@usc.edu   (213) 740-9183
Callaghan, John   callagha@usc.edu   (213) 740-2971
Capone, Douglas   capone@usc.edu   (213) 740-2772
Caron, David   dcaron@usc.edu   (213) 740-0203
Chen, Liang   liang.chen@usc.edu   (213) 740-2143
Chen, Lin   linchen@usc.edu   (213) 821-4277
Chen, Ting   tingchen@usc.edu   (213) 740-2415
Chen, Xiaojiang   xiaojiac@usc.edu   (213) 740-5487
Chiolo, Irene   chiolo@usc.edu   (213) 821-3163
Cohen, Pinchas   hassy@usc.edu  
Curran, Sean   spcurran@usc.edu  
Davies, Kelvin   kelvin@usc.edu   (213) 740-8959
Dean, Matt   matthew.dean@usc.edu   (213) 740-5513
Dickman, Dion   dickman@usc.edu   (213) 740-7533
Donovan, Casey   donovan@usc.edu   (213) 740-2492
Duguay, Linda   duguay@usc.edu   (213) 821-1335
Edmands, Suzanne   sedmands@usc.edu   (213) 740-5548
Ehrenreich, Ian   ehrenrei@usc.edu   (213) 821-5349
El-Naggar, Moh   mnaggar@usc.edu   (213) 740-2394
Finch, Caleb   cefinch@usc.edu   (213) 740-1758
Finkel, Steven   sfinkel@usc.edu   (213) 821-1498
Fitzhugh, Kirk   fitzhugh@usc.edu   (213) 763-3233
Flashner, Henryk   hflashne@usc.edu   (213) 740-0489
Floyd, Gudrun   gbfloyd@usc.edu   (213) 821-1871
Forsburg, Susan L   forsburg@usc.edu   (213) 740-7342
Fraser, Scott   sfraser@provost.usc.edu  
Fuhrman, Jed   fuhrman@usc.edu   (213) 740-5757
Girandola, Bob   girandol@usc.edu   (213) 740-6151
Goodman, Myron   mgoodman@usc.edu   (213) 740-5190
Gracey, Andrew   gracey@usc.edu   (213) 740-2288
Hahn, Joel   joelhahn@usc.edu   (213) 821-1837
Hall, Zach   zhall@usc.edu   (323) 442-1607
Haselwandter, Christoph   cah77@usc.edu   (213) 740-1115
Hedgecock, Dennis   dhedge@usc.edu   (213) 821-2091
Heidelberg, John   jheidelb@usc.edu   (310) 510-4040
Heidelberg, Karla   kheidelb@usc.edu   (213) 740-0951
Hendler, Gordon     (213) 763-3526
Herrera, Albert   aherrera@usc.edu   (213) 740-9177
Hicks, James   jameshic@usc.edu   (213) 821-1481
Hires, Samuel   shires@usc.edu   (213) 821-1068
Hirsch, Judith   jhirsch@usc.edu   (213) 821-2210
Hutchins, David   dahutch@usc.edu   (213) 740-5616
Iturriaga, Rodolfo    
Jacobson, Myrna   myrnaj@usc.edu   (213) 740-5145
Jones, Burt   bjones@usc.edu   (213) 740-5765
Kanoski, Scott   kanoski@usc.edu   (213) 740-2495
Katritch, Vsevolod   katritch@usc.edu   (213) 821-1488
Kay, Steve   dean@dornsife.usc.edu   (213) 740-2531
Khan, Arshad   arshadk@usc.edu   (213) 740-1501
Kiefer, Dale   kiefer@physics.usc.edu   (213) 740-5814
Ko, Chien-Ping   cko@usc.edu   (213) 740-9182
Kolb, Erik   ekolb@usc.edu   (213) 740-3369
Kuhn, Peter   pkuhn@usc.edu   (213) 821-3980
Levine, Naomi M.   n.levine@usc.edu   (213) 821-0745
Lieber, Michael     (323) 865-0568
Liman, Emily   liman@usc.edu   (213) 821-1454
Lopes, Helaine   lopes@usc.edu   (213) 740-9983
Manahan, Donal   manahan@usc.edu   (213) 740-5793
Marinelli, Roberta   rmarinel@usc.edu   (213) 740-4861
Martin, Joel   jwmartin@usc.edu  
McKemy, David   mckemy@usc.edu   (213) 821-5724
McMahon, Andrew   mcmahona@usc.edu   323-442-3056
McNitt-Gray, Jill L   mcnitt@usc.edu   (213) 740-7902
Michael, Matthew   mattm@usc.edu   (213) 740-0553
Michaels, Tony   tony@usc.edu   (213) 740-3689
Moffett, James   jmoffett@usc.edu   (213) 740-5626
Nakano, Aiichiro   anakano@usc.edu   (213) 821-2657
Nealson, Kenneth   knealson@wrigley.usc.edu   (213) 821-2271
Nordborg, Magnus   magnus@usc.edu   (213) 821-5349
Nuzhdin, Sergey   snuzhdin@usc.edu   (213) 740-5773
Petruska, John   petruska@usc.edu   (213) 740-5189
Pham, Phuong   ppham@usc.edu   (213) 740-5191
Phillips, Carolyn   cphil@usc.edu   (213) 740-2165
Pinaud, Fabien   pinaud@usc.edu   (213) 740-2262
Pindroh, Karen   karenkel@usc.edu   (213) 740-2495
Pratt, Matthew   matthew.pratt@usc.edu   (213) 740-3014
Qin, Peter   pzq@usc.edu   (213) 821-2461
Quick, Michael   mquick@usc.edu   213-740-3551
Ralph, Peter   pralph@usc.edu   (213) 740-2404
Rizk, Oliver   orizk@usc.edu   (213) 740-4862
Roberts, Richard   richrob@usc.edu   (213) 821-4132
Rohs, Remo   rohs@usc.edu   (213) 740-0552
Sanudo-Wilhelmy, Sergio   sanudo@usc.edu   (213) 821-1302
Sha, Fei   feisha@usc.edu   213-740-5924
Simerly, Richard   rsimerly@chla.usc.edu   (323) 644-8608
Smith, Andrew   andrewds@usc.edu   (213) 821-4142
Stanford, Craig   stanford@usc.edu   (213) 740-1918
Stevens, Raymond   stevens@usc.edu   (213) 740-1992
Sullivan, Cornelius W   csulliva@usc.edu   (213) 740-6712
Sun, Fengzhu   fsun@usc.edu   (213) 740-2413
Swanson, Larry   lswanson@usc.edu   (213) 740-5892
Sylvan, Jason   jsylvan@usc.edu   (213) 740-1763
Tavare, Simon   stavare@usc.edu   (213) 740-8766
Thomas, Paul   pdthomas@usc.edu   323-442-7799
Thompson, Paul    
Tower, John   jtower@usc.edu   (213) 740-5384
Turcotte, Lorraine   turcotte@usc.edu   (213) 740-8527
Valouev, Anton   valouev@usc.edu   (213) 740-8168
Wang, Kai   kaiwang@usc.edu   323-442-3917
Warshel, Arieh   warshel@usc.edu   (213) 740-4114
Waterman, Michael   msw@usc.edu   (213) 740-2408
Watts, Alan   watts@usc.edu   (213) 740-1497
Webb, Eric   eawebb@usc.edu   (213) 740-7954
Wetzer, Regina   rwetzer@nhm.org   (213) 763-3217
Yazejian, Bruce   yazejian@usc.edu   (213) 740-2220
Zhang, Chao   zhan499@usc.edu   (213) 740-7040
Zhou, Xianghong Jasmine   xjzhou@usc.edu   (213) 740-7055
Ziebis, Wiebke   wziebis@usc.edu   (213) 821-1198
Zlokovic, Berislav    

  • Department of Biological Sciences
  • University of Southern California
  • Allan Hancock Foundation Building
  • Los Angeles, CA 90089-0371