Dr. Naomi Levine and Dr. Cameron Thrash (top and bottom, pictured below) both received 2023 Simons Investigator in Aquatic Microbial Ecology Awards. “The purpose of these awards is to support recently tenured, outstanding investigators in the field of microbial ecology in marine or natural freshwater systems, who will advance our understanding through field studies, laboratory experiments, modeling or theory. The program will provide support for establishment of a new research direction or an innovative expansion of current work.”