## COMMISSION ON CATHOLIC SCHOLARSHIP

The members of the Commission on Catholic Scholarship accepted the challenge of developing the concept of an Institute for Advanced Catholic Studies and exploring the feasibility of its establishment. Over a period of two years, working in five subcommittees, they produced this Prospectus as their final report.

#### MEMBERS

#### JAMES L. HEFT. SM-CHAIR

University Professor of Faith and Culture and Chancellor, University of Dayton; Chair, Board of Directors of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities

#### MICHAEL J. LACEY-VICE-CHAIR

Director of United States Studies, Woodrow Wilson Center, Washington, DC

# GEORGIA M. KEIGHTLEY — EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Associate Professor of Theology, Trinity College, Washington, DC

#### R. SCOTT APPLEBY

Associate Professor History; Director of the Cushwa Center for the Study of American Catholicism, University of Notre Dame; Fellow of the Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies, University of Notre Dame

#### ANTHONY BRENNINKMEYER

Humanitas Foundation, New York, New York

### WILLIAM J. BYRON, SJ

Former President of the Catholic University of America, now Distinguished Professor of Management, Georgetown University; Founding Director and Past Chair, Bread for the World

#### MICHAEL J. BUCKLEY, SJ

Canisius Professor of Systematic Theology and Director of the Jesuit Institute, Boston College; Past President, Catholic Theological Society of America; Life Member, Clare Hall, Cambridge University

#### LISA SOWLE CAHILL

J. Donald Monan, SJ, Professor at Boston College; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences; Past President, Society of Christian Ethics, Catholic Theological Society of America

#### PAUL CARON

Executive Director, CEMA; Chairman, Unimin

## JOHN COLEMAN, SJ

Charles Casassa Chair in Social Values, Loyola-Marymount University, Los Angeles; Former Chair in American Culture and Values, University of Louvain, Belgium and bolder; Bannon Chair, University of Santa Clara

## JAMES CONNOR, SJ

Director, Woodstock Theological Center, Georgetown University

#### ALICE GALLIN, OSU

Visiting Research Scholar, The Catholic University of America; Former Executive Director, Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities

#### PHILIP GLEASON

Professor emeritus of History, University of Notre Dame; Past President, American Catholic Historical Association; President, Immigration and Ethnic History Society

## DORIS GOTTEMOELLER, RSM

Former President of the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas; Chairperson Catholic Health Association; Member, International Policy Committee, United States Catholic Conference; Past President, Leadership Conference of Women Religious

#### NATHAN O. HATCH

Provost, University of Notre Dame; Charles Warren Fellow, Harvard University

#### REV. J. BRYAN HEHIR

Professor of the Practice in Religion and Society, Harvard University Center for International Affairs and Harvard Divinity School; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

#### MONIKA HELLWIG

Executive Director, Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities; Professor of Theology Emeritus, Georgetown University; Past President, Catholic Theological Society of America; Former Fellow, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

## DERMOT KEOGH

Professor of History, University College, Cork, Ireland; Former Fellow, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

#### REV. JOSEPH A. KOMONCHAK

John C. and Gertrude P. Hubbard Professor of Theology, Department of Religion and Religious Education, The Catholic University of America; Former Fellow, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

#### JOHN T. NOONAN

Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and Robbins Professor of Law, Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences; President, Thomas More-Jacques Maritain Institute; Former President, American Catholic Philosophical Association

#### FRANCIS OAKLEY

Edward Dorr Griffin Professor of the History of Ideas and President Emeritus, Williams College; Fellow of the Midieval Academy of America and former Chair of the American Council of Learned Societies; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

#### DAVID J. O'BRIEN

Professor of History and Loyola Professor of Roman Catholic Studies, College of the Holy Cross; President, American Catholic Historical Association; Member, National Conference of Catholic Bishops Task Force on Catholic Education and Catholic Social Teaching

#### TIMOTHY O'MEARA

Howard J. Kenna, CSC, Professor of Mathematics and Provost Emeritus, University of Notre Dame; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

#### KATARINA SCHUTH, OSF

Endowed Chair for the Social Scientific Study of Religion, St. Paul Seminary School of Divinity, University of St. Thomas; Member, Executive Committee, Association of Theological Schools

#### WILLIAM M. SHEA

Professor and former Chair, Department of Theology, St. Louis University; Past President, College Theology Society; Former Fellow, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

#### MARGARET O'BRIEN STEINFELS

Editor of Commonweal

#### CHARLES TAYLOR

Professor Emeritus of Philosophy, McGill University; Foreign Honorary Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences; 1999 Gifford Lectures

#### DAVID TRACY

Andrew Thomas Greeley and Grace McNichols Greeley Distinguished Service Professor of Roman Catholic Studies and Professor of Theology; Professor in the Committee on the Analysis of Ideas and Methods and in the Committee on Social Thought, University of Chicago; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences