Skip to main content

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an international non-profit organization open to all, seeks to "advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people." The AAAS promotes scientific advancement, collaboration and education through the organization of member activities, education initiatives and the publication of one of the world’s leading academic journals, Science. As a leading global advocate for scientific progress, the AAAS honors a select number of its members, who are especially accomplished in advancing science and its social applications, by naming them Fellows. Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers.

Michael ArbibUniversity Professor, Fletcher Jones Chair in Computer Science, and Professor of Computer Science, Biological Sciences, and Psychology
Norman ArnheimDistinguished Professor of Biological Sciences, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, and Ester Dornsife Chair in Biological Sciences
Irving BiedermanHarold Dornsife Chair in Neurosciences and Professor of Psychology and Computer Science
David BottjerProfessor of Earth Sciences, Biological Sciences and Environmental Studies
Sarah BottjerProfessor of Biological Sciences and Psychology
David CaronProfessor of Biological Sciences
Paul DapkusWilliam M. Keck Distinguished Professor of Engineering and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Physics and Astronomy
Kelvin DaviesJames E. Birren Chair in Gerontology and Professor of Biological Sciences
Robert DouglasProfessor Emeritus of Earth Sciences
Caleb FinchUniversity Professor, ARCO/William F. Kieschnick Chair in the Neurobiology of Aging and Professor of Gerontology, Biological Sciences, Anthropology, and Psychology
Susan L ForsburgProfessor of Biological Sciences
Scott FraserElizabeth Garrett Chair in Convergent Bioscience and Provost Professor of Biological Sciences, Biomedical Engineering, Physiology and Biophysics, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, Pediatrics, Radiology and Ophthalmology
Susan FriedlanderProfessor of Mathematics
Jed FuhrmanMcCulloch-Crosby Chair in Marine Biology and Professor of Biological Sciences
Margaret GatzProfessor of Psychology, Gerontology and Preventive Medicine
Myron GoodmanProfessor of Biological Sciences and Chemistry
Donn GorslineEmeritus Professor of Earth Sciences
Ernest GreeneProfessor of Psychology
Dennis HedgecockPaxson H. Offield Professor in Fisheries Ecology and Professor of Biological Sciences
Robert HellwarthUniversity Professor, George T. Pfleger Chair in Electrical Engineering, and Professor of Physics
Tom JordanUniversity Professor, William M. Keck Foundation Chair in Geological Sciences and Professor of Earth Sciences
Steve KayAdjunct Professor of Biological Sciences
Anna KrylovProfessor of Chemistry
Pat LevittProvost Professor of Cell and Neurobiology, and Pharmacology and Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Psychology
Daniel LidarProfessor of Electrical Engineering Systems, Chemistry and Physics and Astronomy
Donal ManahanProfessor of Biological Sciences
Charles Mc KennaProfessor of Chemistry
John McArdleProfessor of Psychology and Gerontology
Susan MontgomeryProfessor of Mathematics
Shrikanth NarayananAndrew Viterbi Professor of Engineering, Professor of Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Linguistics and Psychology
Kenneth NealsonWrigley Chair in Environmental Studies and Professor of Earth Sciences and Biological Sciences
George OlahDistinguished Professor of Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and Donald P. and Katherine B. Loker Chair in Organic Chemistry
Nicos PetasisHarold and Lillian Moulton Chair in Organic/Polymer Chemistry and Professor of Chemistry and Pharmacology
Surya PrakashGeorge A. and Judith A. Olah Nobel Laureate Chair in Hydrocarbon Chemistry and Professor of Chemistry
Hanna ReislerLloyd Armstrong, Jr. Chair for Science and Engineering and Professor of Chemistry
Fengzhu SunProfessor of Biological Sciences and Mathematics
Larry SwansonUniversity Professor and Appleman Professor of Biological Sciences, Neurology and Psychology
Armand TanguayProfessor of Electrical Engineering, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, Biomedical Engineering, Ophthalmology, and Physics and Astronomy
Simon TavareAdjunct Professor (Research) of Biological Sciences
Mark ThompsonRay R. Irani, Chairman of Occidental Petroleum Corporation, Chair in Chemistry and Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Maurice Van ArsdolEmeritus Professor of Sociology
Arieh WarshelDistinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, and Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and Dana and David Dornsife Chair in Chemistry
Michael WatermanUniversity Professor, USC Associates Chair in Natural Sciences, and Professor of Biological Sciences, Computer Science and Mathematics
Alan WattsProfessor of Biological Sciences, Physiology and Biophysics
Curt WittigPaul A. Miller Chair in Letters, Arts and Sciences and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry