2006-2007 Academic Year

Women and Politics

Thursday, April 26, 2007

with California Secretary of State Debra Bowen


 

Blood and Land: Ethno-nationalism, Culture, Identity

Wednesday, Thursday 25. 2007

with Dr. Tok Thompson


 

Proverbial Rhetoric in Decisive Moments of American Politics

Thursday, April 19, 2007

Professor Wolfgang Mieder

Flyer


 

The End of Government ... As We Know It: Making Public Policy Work -Dr. Elaine Kamarck

Thursday, April 12, 2007

At the end of the twentieth century, many political leaders declared that government was, in the words of Ronald Reagan, "the problem, not the solution." But on closer inspection, argues Elaine Kamarck, the revolt against government was and is a revolt against bureaucracy--a revolt that has taken place in first world, developing, and avowedly communist countries alike. To some, this looks like the end of government. Kamarck, however, counters that what we are seeing is the replacement of the traditional bureaucratic approach with new models more in keeping with the information age economy. The challenge of government increasingly will be to choose an implementation mode, match it to a policy problem, and manage it well in the post-bureaucratic world.

Flyer


 

Plunder: The Dark Side of the Rule of Law

Wednesday, April 4, 2007

Professor Laura Nader


 

Women and Politics

Monday, April 2, 2007

with Assemblywoman Mimi Walters


 

Race and the Legal System: The Japanese American World War II Cases

Thursday, March 22, 2007

with Dale Minami (For more information, click here)

Flyer 


 

Screening of Mr. Conservative: Goldwater on Goldwater

Wednesday, March 21, 2007

 

Taking Stock of Human Rights in the 21st Century

Tuesday, March 20, 2007

Mary Robinson, Former President of Ireland, Former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights


 

Sacramento Legislative Seminar 2007

Sunday, February 25, 2007 - Tuesday, February 27, 2007

 


 

News & Public Policy: The Case of Skid Row

Monday, February 26, 2007

Cara Mia DiMassa, Journalist, Los Angeles Times


 

Investigative Journalism for an Informed Citizenry

Monday, February 12, 2007

Peter Zuckerman, Journalist, Oregonian


 

How Congress Evolves

Wednesday, January 1, 2007

Nelson Polsby, Professor of Political Science, UC Berkeley


 

Screening & Panel: Jesus Camp

Thursday, January 25, 2007

Co-sponsored with Knight Chair in Media and Religion


 

The People’s Machine: Arnold Schwarzenegger and the Rise of Blockbuster Democracy

Saturday, January 22, 2007

Unruh Author Series with Joe Mathews, Los Angeles Times journalist and author


 

Screening: Blood Diamond

Monday, December 4, 2006

Co-sponsored with Peace and Conflict Studies


 

Democracy’s Promise: Immigrants and American Civic Institutions

Monday, November 27, 2006

Unruh Institute Author Series with Professor Janelle Wong 


 

Election Post Mortem: State Election & Initiatives Panel and National Election Panel

Wednesday, November 15, 2006

Flyer


 

Women and Politics: Muslim Women Political Leaders: Their Work and Lives

Monday, November 13. 2006

with Marilyn Evans 

Flyer


 

Human Rights Forum - Doctors Without Borders: Humanitarian Action and the Plagues of Poverty

Wednesday, November 8, 2006

with Jeanne Cabeza


 

Human Rights Forum - The Intelligence of Knowledge: The Next Wave

Wednesday, November 1, 2006

with Jean-Marc Coicaud, Head of the United Nations University, Office at the United Nations, New York

Flyer


 

Don't Waste Your 20's: Take on the Little Things & The Big Things!

Tuesday, October 24. 2006

with Ralph Nader

Flyer


 

Managing Diversity: Toward a Globally Inclusive Workplace

Monday, October 23, 2006

Unruh Author Series with Professor Michàlle Mor Barak, USC School of Social Work


 

Movie Screening: Shadow Company and the Changing Politics of War

Wednesday, October 17, 2006

Cosponsored with the Center for International Studies


 

Mainstreaming Muslims: Rethinking Integration Policy in France and Germany

Tuesday, October 16, 2006

with Sylvia Maier, Assistant Professor of International Affairs at the Georgia Institute of Technology's Sam Nunn School of International Affairs


 

Waxman on Welfare

Tuesday, October 10, 2006

Congressman Henry Waxman
Cosponsored with USC California Social Welfare Archives


 

Simpsons’ Family Values

Tuesday, September 19, 2006

Mike Reiss, Producer and Writer for the Simpsons


 

Human Rights Forum

Monday, September 18, 2006

Jane Olson, Chair of the Board of Human Rights Watch

Flyer


 

Diabesity: The Obesity-Diabetes Epidemic That Threatens America--And What We Must Do to Stop It

Tuesday, September 11, 2006

Unruh Author Series with Francine Kaufman, USC Keck School of Medicine


 

  • 3518 Trousdale Parkway, Von KleinSmid Center 263, Los Angeles, CA 90089-0045
  • Phone: (213) 740 - 8964
  • Fax: (213) 740 - 3167
  • Email: unruhins@usc.edu