• Kadri Vihvelin has been promoted to the rank of Professor, effective in Fall 2014.
  • Mark Schroeder is the winner of the Senior Raubenheimer Award for 2014, USC Dornsife's highest award for scholarship, teaching, and service. Congratulations!
  • Congratulations to our graduate students Maegan Fairchild, for being awarded the USC General Education Graduate Assistant Award, and Renee Bolinger, for being awarded the USC Associates' Award for Excellence in Teaching, in Fall 2014.
  • Stephen Finlay has been promoted to the rank of Professor, effective in Fall 2014.
  • Tom Pashby (Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh) will be joining us as a Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow, working in philosophy of science and philosophy of physics, starting in Fall 2014.
  • Congratulations to Andrew Bacon for being awarded the 2014 APA Article Prize for his paper "Quantificational Logic and Empty Names", selected as the best article published by a younger philosopher in 2012 or 2013, and for the paper's selection as one of the ten best philosophy papers of 2013 by The Philosopher's Annual.
  • Congratulations to our new PhDs for their new positions beginning 2014-15:
    • Ben Lennertz has accepted a position as Visiting Assistant Professor at Davidson College;
    • Shyam Nair has accepted a position as Assistant Professor at Lingnan University in Hong Kong;
    • Kenny Pearce has accepted a 2-year Lilly postdoctoral fellowship at Valparaiso University;
    • Indrek Reiland has accepted a position as Visiting Assistant Professor at Rice University.
  • Other graduate news:
    • Dan Considine (PhD 2008) has accepted a tenure-track position at Folsom Lake College;
    • Hrafn Asgeirsson (PhD 2012) has a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Iceland, and will be the HLA Hart Visiting Fellow at the University of Oxford in 2014-15.
  • Jeff Russell (metaphysics, phil. physics, logic) will be joining our faculty as Assistant Professor in Fall 2014, from the University of Oxford.  Welcome Jeff!
  • We are delighted to share the news that Gary Watson has been named a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
  • With regret we announce the passing of one of our faculty, Distinguished Professor Jim Higginbotham. An obituary is here.
  • Watch the new video about the department!
  • John Hawthorne has accepted a full-time position in our department starting in the fall of 2015. He has already been with us part-time.
  • We have a new video describing our unique interdisciplinary major in Philosophy, Politics and Law. Check it out here.

Announcement Archive

"Isaac Newton" tile painting in the Hoose Library of Philosophy
  • School of Philosophy
  • 3709 Trousdale Parkway
  • Mudd Hall of Philosophy, MHP 113