Majors and Minors

Print this page

Program Descriptions

If you have a USC G.P.A of 3.0 or higher and will have 64-96 units completed in the near future, you are eligible to apply.  If you meet the qualifications above and are interested in pursuing a Progressive Degree Program, please see your undergraduate advisor about these opportunities. Further information, including graduate advisors’ contact information, is listed below.

 


 

Applied Mathematics

          - Enhance preparation for Ph.D. programs

     

          - Prepare for employment as a  College mathematics instructor

   

          - Prepare for employment in government, international agencies, and multinational businesses

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Sergey Lototsky

02389

lototsky@math.usc.edu

Amy Yung

08168

amy@math.usc.edu

East Asian Languages and Cultures

          - Prepare for employment as a  College language instructor

   

          - Prepare for employment in civil service, State Department, courts and as a translator.

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Dominic Cheung

x03708

dcheung@usc.edu

Geinel Johnson

X02534

gmjohnso@usc.edu

           

Economics

          - Prepare for employment in government, international agencies, and multinational businesses

          - Enhance preparation for Ph.D. programs

     

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Jeff Nugent

x02107

nugent@usc.edu

Morgan Ponder

x08335

ponder@usc.edu

           

Economic Developmental Programming

          - Prepare for employment in government, international agencies, and multinational businesses

          - Enhance preparation for Ph.D. programs

     

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Jeff Nugent

x02107

nugent@usc.edu

Morgan Ponder

x08335

ponder@usc.edu

           

Environmental Studies

          - Gain a professionalization experience for ENST majors, having mastered the theoretical tools related to Environmental Studies, students are ready for applied skills such as the preparation or analysis of environmental planning documents.

          - Prepare for governmental and non-governmental (NGO) environmental policy and private sector positions

          - Combined with some previous coursework in business prepare to help businesses "green" themselves by instituting more sustainable practices

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

David Ginsburg

x08576

dginsbur@dornsife.usc.edu

Kevin Cannariato

x08576

cannaria@usc.edu

           

Geographic Information Science and Technology

          - Gain world-class training in practical applications beneficial in industry and research positions

          - Acquire substantial graduate training currently required by industry, government, and corporations

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Jennifer N. Swift

x05841

jswift@dornsife.usc.ed

Katherine Kelsey

x08298

kkelsey@usc.edu

           

Geological Sciences

          - Enhance preparation for Ph. D. programs

     

          - Meet current industry standards

     

          - Gain excellent training for computational data analysis

   

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Doug Hammond

x05837

dhammond@usc.edu

Cindy Waite

X06109

waite@usc.edu

           

International Relations

          - Prepare for employment in private and public sector requiring a  Masters degree

          - Prepares  for employment in NGO's, government, and the State Department

 

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Gerado Munck

x12720

munck@usc.edu

Elisa Chavarria

x08630

elisacha@usc.edu

           

Marine Environmental Biology

          - Enhance preparation for Ph. D. programs

     

          - Develop a unique facet to one's background as a prospective medical student.

 

          - Develop fundamental tools and expertise for entry into a master's level position in academic, government, or private sector research laboratories.

          - Prepare for governmental and non-government (NGO) environmental regulatory science, and forge career pathways into private sector positions in environmental consulting and business.

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Linda Duguay

x11335

duguay@usc.edu

Linda Bazilian

X11088

bazilian@usc.edu

           

Mathematics

          - Enhance preparation for Ph.D. programs

     

          - Prepare for employment as a  College mathematics instructor

   

          - Prepare for employment in government, international agencies, and multinational businesses

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Igor Kukavica

03781

kukavica@math.usc.edu

Amy Yung

08168

amy@math.usc.edu

           

Mathematical Finance

          - Prepare for employment in high tech or financial markets

   

          - Prepare for employment at quality financial institutions (hedge funds, banks, treasurers', Federal Reserve, IMF, Brookings Institute)

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Michael Magill

x02104

magill@usc.edu

Amy Yung

x08168

amy@math.usc.edu

Jin Ma

x03771

jinma@usc.edu

     
           

Philosophy and Law

          - Develop skills to function effectively as teachers, thinkers and writers on philosophical topics in the Western tradition

          - Enhance preparation for a J.D. or Ph. D. program

     

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Scott Soames

x00798

soames@usc.edu

Scott Soames

x00798

soames@usc.edu

           

Professional Writing

          - Experience the value of a literary and aesthetic heritage through seminars and workshops that cultivate critical and creative thinking

          - Steep yourself in the methods  of accomplished novelists, poets, playwrights, screenwriters and creative nonfiction writers in workshops and seminars

          - Develop an understanding of multiple literary genres and the artful expression of these forms, and then delve deeply into one of these genres for your final (thesis) project

          - Work closely with a faculty mentor on editing and shaping a sophisticated draft of your final project: a full-length novel, collection of short stories; collection of poems; nonfiction book; or a screen or stage-play

          - Workshop your manuscripts in a rigorous yet nurturing environment based on a studio model of working closely with accomplished writers in small workshop settings

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Brighde Mullins

x04718

bmullins@dornsife.usc.edu

Natalie Inouye

x01384

kaylor@college.usc.edu

           

Psychology

          - Enhance preparation for Ph.D. programs

     

          - Produce scholarly work suitable for submission to a major publication

 

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Gayla Margolin

x02313

margolin@usc.edu

Ingrid Popper

x02204

popper@usc.edu

           

Statistics

          - Prepare for College-teaching

     

          - Prepare for employment in the industry

     

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Larry Goldstein

x02405

larry@math.usc.edu

Charles Lanski

x02417

clanski@usc.edu

           

Visual Anthropology

           
           

FACULTY ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

STAFF ADVISOR

EXT

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Gary Seaman

01906

seaman@usc.edu

Janet Hoskins

01913

jhoskins@usc.edu

Janet Hoskins 01913 jhoskins@usc.edu