Middle East Studies, Faculty, Lecturers

Director

Laurie A. Brand

Robert Grandford Wright Professor and Professor of International Relations and Middle East Studies

Director - Middle East Studies Program

E-mail: brand@usc.edu 
Phone: (213) 740-3651 
Office: VKC 330

Faculty

Jamal Ali

Associate Professor (Teaching),  Arabic Language

E-mail: jamal.ali@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2796
Office: THH 449A

Richard H. Dekmejian

Professor of Political Science

E-mail: dekmejia@usc.edu 
Phone: (213) 821-3943
Office: VKC 327

Christelle Fischer-Bovet

Assistant Professor of Classics 

E-mail: fischerb@usc.edu 
Phone: (213) 740-3683 
Office: THH 256K

Sarah M. Gualtieri

Associate Professor of History & American Studies and Ethnicity

E-mail: gualtier@usc.edu 
Phone: 
(213) 740-5374 
Office: 
SOS 165

Fayez Hammad

Lecturer, School of International Relations and Department of Political Science

E-mail: fhammad@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2136
Office: VKC 330

Olivia Harrison

Assistant Professor of French and Italian and Middle East Studies

E-mail: oharriso@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3700
Office: THH 126

Sherman Jackson

King Faisal Chair in Islamic Thought and Culture and Professor of Religion, and American Studies and Ethnicity

E-mail: sajackso@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-0270
Office: ACB 130

Hani Khafipour

Lecturer, Iranian History and Culture

E-mail: hanik@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-9354
Office: THH 330

Lina Kholaki

Lecturer, Arabic Language

E-mail: kholaki@usc.edu

Phone: (213) 740-3761
Office: Taper Hall (THH) 449B

Peyman Nojoumian

Assistant Professor (Teaching),  Persian Language

E-mail: nojoumia@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2310
Office: THH 449

Jeffrey Nugent

Professor of Economics and Business

E-mail: nugent@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2107
Office: KAP 318C

Azade-Ayse Rorlich

Professor of History and Slavic Languages and Literatures

E-mail: arorlich@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-1665
Office: SOS 258

Ramzi Rouighi

Associate Professor of History and Middle East Studies

E-mail: rouighi@email.usc.edu
Phone: (213) 821-3126
Office: SOS 256

Lynn Swartz Dodd

Lecturer, Curator of USC's Archaeology Research Center

E-mail: swartz@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-0266
Office: ACB 335
Office Hours: Monday through Friday : 9:30-5:30pm

Suzan Wali

Lecturer, Arabic Language

E-mail: sozanwal@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2802
Office: THH 449B

Bruce Zuckerman

Professor of Religion and Linguistics

Myron and Marian Casden Director of the Casden Institute for the Study of the Jewish Role in American Life

E-mail: bzuckerm@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3405
Office: ABC 327

Associated Faculty


Fatemeh Ibrahimi-Nazarian, Academic Director of IBEAR MBA Program and Assistant Professor of Clinical of Finance and Business Economics

Rym Kaki: Lecturer, USC Sol Price School of Public Policy

Email:rym@usc.edu

Office: Ralphy Goldy Lewis Hall 107 A

 

Dr. Najmedin Meshkati, Professor of Civil/Environmental Engineering and Industrial & Systems Engineering

 

Moh El-Naggar, Assistant Professor of Physics and Biological Sciences

E-mail: mnaggar@usc.edu

Phone: (213) 740-2394
Office:SSC 215C

 

Hashem Pesaran, John Elliott Distinguished Chair in Economics, Director of the USC Center for Applied Financial Economics

E-mail: pesaran@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3510
Office: KAP 324B


Manochehr Rashidian, Department of Economics

E-mail: rashidia@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-8335
Office: KAP 116A 

 

Mohammad R. Safarzadeh, Department of Economics

Office: KAP 116A

 

Muhammad Sahimi, Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, NIOC Chair in Petroleum Engineering

Email: moe@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2064

  • USC Middle East Studies Program
  • Taper Hall 449
  • 3501 Trousdale Parkway
  • Los Angeles, CA 90089-0151
  • Images courtesy of Ed Ou Photography and USC Dornsife Office of Overseas Studies
  • Phone: (213) 740 - 2795