Middle East Studies, Faculty, Lecturers

Faculty

Laurie A. Brand

Robert Grandford Wright Professor and Professor of International Relations

Director - Middle East Studies Program

E-mail: brand@usc.edu 
Phone: (213) 740-3651 
Office: VKC 330

Jamal Ali

Associate Professor (Teaching) of Arabic

E-mail: jamal.ali@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2796
Office: THH 449A

Richard H. Dekmejian

Professor of Political Science, Director of the USC Institute of Armenian Studies

E-mail: dekmejia@usc.edu 
Phone: (213) 821-3943
Office: VKC 327

Christelle Fischer-Bovet

Assistant Professor of Classics 

E-mail: fischerb@usc.edu 
Phone: (213) 740-3683 
Office: THH 256K

Sarah M. Gualtieri

Associate Professor of History & American Studies and Ethnicity, Middle East Studies Program Chair

E-mail: gualtier@usc.edu 
Phone: 
(213) 740-5374 
Office: 
SOS 165

Fayez Hammad

Lecturer

E-mail: fhammad@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2136
Office: VKC 330

Olivia Harrison

Assistant Professor of French and Italian

E-mail: oharriso@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3700
Office: THH 126

Sherman Jackson

King Faisal Chair in Islamic Thought and Culture and Professor of Religion, and American Studies and Ethnicity

E-mail: sajackso@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-0270
Office: ACB 130

Rym Kaki

Lecturer

USC Sol Price School of Public Policy

E-mail: rym@usc.edu 
Office: Ralph Goldy Lewis Hall 107A

Hani Khafipour

Lecturer of Iranian Studies

E-mail: hanik@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-9354
Office: THH 330

Lina Kholaki

Lecturer of Arabic

E-mail: kholaki@usc.edu

Phone: (213) 740-3761
Office: Taper Hall (THH) 449B

Peyman Nojoumian

Assistant Professor (Teaching) of Persian

E-mail: nojoumia@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2310
Office: THH 449

Jeffrey Nugent

Professor of Economics and Business

E-mail: nugent@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2107
Office: KAP 318C

Mohammed Hashem Pesaran

John Elliott Chair in Economics and Professor of Economics

E-mail: pesaran@email.usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-8335
Office: KAP 300

Azade-Ayse Rorlich

Professor of History and Slavic Languages and Literatures

E-mail: arorlich@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-1665
Office: SOS 258

Ramzi Rouighi

Associate Professor of History

E-mail: rouighi@email.usc.edu
Phone: (213) 821-3126
Office: SOS 256

Lynn Swartz Dodd

Lecturer

Curator of USC's Archaeology Research Center

E-mail: swartz@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-0266
Office: ACB 335
Office Hours: Monday through Friday : 9:30-5:30pm

Suzan Wali

Lecturer of Arabic

E-mail: sozanwal@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2802
Office: THH 449B

Bruce Zuckerman

Professor of Religion and Linguistics

Myron and Marian Casden Director of the Casden Institute for the Study of the Jewish Role in American Life

E-mail: bzuckerm@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3405
Office: ABC 327

  • USC Middle East Studies Program
  • Taper Hall 449
  • 3501 Trousdale Parkway
  • Los Angeles, CA 90089-0151
  • Images courtesy of Ed Ou Photography and USC Dornsife Office of Overseas Studies
  • Phone: (213) 740 - 2795