Middle East Studies, Faculty, Lecturers

Director

Laurie A. Brand

Robert Grandford Wright Professor and Professor of International Relations and Middle East Studies

Director - Middle East Studies Program

E-mail: brand@usc.edu 
Phone: (213) 740-3651 
Office: VKC 3ooB

Office Hours: Monday 11-1 and by appointment

Faculty

Olivia Harrison

Assistant Professor of French and Italian and Middle East Studies

E-mail: oharriso@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3700
Office: THH 153

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 11:30-12:30

Dina Jadallah

Lecturer,  Arabic Language and Society

E-mail: jadallah@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-9294
Office: THH 449F

Office Hours: Wednesday 10:30-12:30 and by appointment

Hani Khafipour

Lecturer, Iranian History and Culture

E-mail: hanik@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-9581
Office: THH 330

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 2-2:30

Afaf Nash

Lecturer, Arabic Language

E-mail: afafnash@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3761
Office: THH 449A

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 11-12

Peyman Nojoumian

Assistant Professor (Teaching), Persian Language

E-mail: nojoumia@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2310
Office: THH 449

Office Hours: Monday through Thursday, 1-2 by appointment

Azade-Ayse Rorlich

Professor of History, Slavic Languages and Literatures, and Middle East Studies

E-mail: arorlich@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-1665
Office: SOS 258

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 11-12 and by appointment

Ramzi Rouighi

Associate Professor of History and Middle East Studies

E-mail: rouighi@email.usc.edu
Phone: (213) 821-3126
Office: SOS 256

On leave for the Spring 2016 Semester

Philip Seib

Vice Dean and Professor, Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism

E-mail: seib@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-9611
Office: ASC 307A

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 8-9:15 and 12-2 and by appointment

Suzan Wali

Lecturer, Arabic Language

E-mail: sozanwal@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2802
Office: THH 449E

Office Hours: Monday through Wednesday, 12-1

Affiliated Faculty

Richard H. Dekmejian

Professor of Political Science

E-mail: dekmejia@usc.edu 
Phone: (213) 821-3943
Office: THH 449D

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 1:50-2:30

Reuven Firestone

Regenstein Professor in Medieval Judaism and Islam at Hebrew Union College - Jewish Institute of Religion

E-mail: rfirestone@huc.edu
Phone: (213) 747-6128

Office Hours: Please contact Dr. Firestone by email or in person to set up an appointment.

Christelle Fischer-Bovet

Assistant Professor of Classics 

E-mail: fischerb@usc.edu 
Phone: (213) 740-3683 
Office: THH 256K

Office Hours: Tuesday 1-2 and Thursday 3:20-4:20

Sarah M. Gualtieri

Associate Professor of American Studies and Ethnicity and History

E-mail: gualtier@usc.edu 
Phone: 
(213) 740-5374 
Office: 
SOS 165

Fayez Hammad

Lecturer, School of International Relations and Department of Political Science

E-mail: fhammad@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2136
Office: VKC 330

Sherman Jackson

King Faisal Chair in Islamic Thought and Culture and Professor of Religion, and American Studies and Ethnicity

E-mail: sajackso@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-0270
Office: ACB 130

Jeffrey Nugent

Professor of Economics and Business

E-mail: nugent@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2107
Office: KAP 318C

Office Hours: Monday 2-5, Tuesday and Thursday 12-1 and by appointment (all 7 days)

Bruce A. Phillips

Professor of Sociology & Jewish Communal  Service at Hebrew Union College - Jewish Insitute of Religion

E-mail: bphillip@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 765-2151

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 10-1, Tuesday and Thursday 12-5, and Friday 10-3 all by appointment. Contact Dr. Phillips by email to schedule an appointment. 

Lynn Swartz Dodd

Lecturer, Curator of USC's Archaeology Research Center

E-mail: swartz@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-0266
Office: ACB 335

Office Hours: Wednesday 9-10 and by appointment

Veli N. Yashin

Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature

E-mail: veli.yashin@dornsife.usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-0102
Office: THH 172

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 2-3 and by appointment

Bruce Zuckerman

Professor of Religion and Linguistics

Myron and Marian Casden Director of the Casden Institute for the Study of the Jewish Role in American Life

E-mail: bzuckerm@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3405
Office: ABC 327

Associated Faculty

 
Moh El-Naggar

Robert D. Beyer ('81) Early Career Chair in Natural Sciences and Assistant Professor of Physics, Biological Sciences, and Chemistry

E-mail: mnaggar@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2394

Fatemeh Ibrahimi-Nazarian

Academic Director of IBEAR MBA Program and Assistant Professor of Clinical of Finance and Business Economics

 
 
Rym Kaki

Adjunct Associate Professor, USC Sol Price School of Public Policy

E-mail:rym@usc.edu

 

Najmedin Meshkati

Professor of Civil/Environmental Engineering and Industrial & Systems Engineering, USC Vitterbi School of Engineering

 

Hashem Pesaran

John Elliott Distinguished Chair in Economics, Director, USC Center for Applied Financial Economics, and Director, USC Dornsife Institute for New Economic Thinking

E-mail: pesaran@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3510

Manochehr Rashidian

Lecturer, Department of Economics

E-mail: rashidia@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-8335

  

Mohammad R. Safarzadeh

Lecturer, Department of Economics

 

Muhammad Sahimi

Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, NIOC Chair in Petroleum Engineering, USC Vitterbi School of Engineering

E-mail: moe@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-2064

  • USC Middle East Studies Program
  • Taper Hall 449
  • 3501 Trousdale Parkway
  • Los Angeles, CA 90089-4355