Igor Kukavica is elected a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society

Igor has been honored for his many contributions to nonlinear partial differential equations, as well as his mentoring of PhD students and his general service to the mathematical profession.

Prof. Robert Guralnick has been awarded the Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra by AMS

The 2018 Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra has been awarded to Robert Guralnick of USC by the American Mathematics Society for outstanding contributions to algebra. This prestigious prize is one the major prizes awarded by the AMS and is given once every three years.  
The AMS citation states that this prize was awarded to Guralnick for his groundbreaking research on representation theory, cohomology and subgroup structure of finite quasi-simple groups and the wide-ranging applications of this work to other areas of mathematics.   

For more information click here.

Susan Friedlander, the Chair of the MCofA Executive Committee

Susan welcomes the participants and opens the 2017 Mathematical Congress of the Americas in Montreal. 

For more information click here.

Prof. Susan Montgomery appointed to a Gabilan Distinguished Professorship

Professor Susan Montgomery has been appointed to a Gabilan Distinguished Professorship. This professorship is awarded by WiSE to recognize academic excellence as well as contributions to the WiSE community. The WiSE citation says “Susan Montgomery is a distinguished mathematician whose current research interests concern noncommutative algebras: in particular, Hopf algebras, their structure and representations, and their actions on other algebras.

Prof. Neelesh Tiruviluamala named residential faculty for new USC Village

Tiruviluamala, an assistant professor of mathematics at USC Dornsife, is one of the faculty members who will help shape student life as soon as students move in at the eight new residential colleges of the USC Village, which will open in August.

Read more..

Faculty to Host French/American Colloquium

Professors Jay BartroffLarry Goldstein, and Stanislav Minsker will host The French-American Collaborative Colloquium on Concentration Inequalities, High Dimensional Statistics, and Stein's Method in July 2017. The colloquium is funded by the Albert and Elaine Borchard Foundation and takes place in the Château de la Bretesche, a 14th century French castle in the Loire-Atlantique. Félicitations, messieurs!

USC Teams Take Home Awards from Datafest 2017

Two USC teams took home awards from Datafest 2017 at Chapman University.  The teams, sponsored by the Math Department and Prof. Jay Bartroff, competed against 65 students in 15 teams from 6 universities, including UCLA, UCSF, and UC Irvine.  Of only four awards given, two were to Trojan teams for "best use of statistical models."  The winning teams were made up of Cheng Cheng, Chelsea Lee, Hsuanpei Lee, Omar Lopez, Hossein Shaffi, Yi Yang Tan, Bingquan Wu, Grace Xu, and Xuejia Xu.  Fight on!

Math students featured in USC Dornsife News

The most recent issue of USC Dornsife News has two very nice profiles of USC math students: graduate student Bahar Acu (PhD 2017) and undergraduate Sabrina Enriquez'18.

2017 Department Prize Winners : Graduate

  • The Dennis Ray Estes Graduate Teaching Prize to Ilknur Egilmez 
  • The Theodore Edward Harris Graduate Teaching Prize to Melike Sirlanci 
  • The Dennis Ray Estes Graduate Research Prize to Ozlem Ejder
  • The Edward and Dolores Blum Graduate Research Prize to Guher Camliyurt 
  • The Theodore Edward Harris Graduate Research Prize to Guiseppe Martone

       Click here for more photos.

2017 Department Prize Winners : Undergraduate

  • Al and Teresa Zobrist Excellence in Mathematics Senior Award to Erin Mills
  • Award for Outreach in Mathematics to Emily Mathur
  • Al and Teresa Zobrist Excellence in Mathematics Junior Award to Alec Sahakian

       Click here for more photos.

Strong USC representation at AWM workshop

On April 8-9, the Association for Women in Mathematics organized at UCLA a workshop with strong participation from USC graduate students and faculty.

On the left, Melike Sirlanci, Fanhui Xu, Zhanerke Temirgaliyeva, Hyun-Jung Kim, alumna Alona Kryshchenko (PhD 2013) and Professor Sami Assaf (left) eagerly discuss Fanhui's poster presentation (which also won the Best Poster Award).

  • USC Dornsife
  • Department of Mathematics
  • 3620 S. Vermont Ave., KAP 104
  • Los Angeles, CA 90089-2532