Gender Studies Faculty

 

 

Core Faculty

 

 

Tim Biblarz

Associate Professor of Sociology and Gender Studies

Email: biblarz@usc.edu * Office: HSH 314 * Phone: (213) 740-3547  

 

 

 

 

Joseph Boone

Professor of English, Comparative Literature and Gender Studies

Email: josephbo@usc.edu * Office: THH 402G * Phone: (213) 740-2818

 

 

 

 

Sheila Briggs

Associate Professor of Religion and Gender Studies

Email: sbriggs@usc.edu * Office: ACB 130 * Phone: (213) 740-0267

 

 

 

Alice Echols

Professor of English, History, and Barbra Streisand Professor in Contemporary Gender Studies

Research Specialties: Popular Music Studies through the lens of gender, race, and sexuality; 20th C. U.S. History, particularly the long Sixties; Theories of Feminism; Memoir; Biography

Email: echols@usc.edu * Office: THH 404F * Phone: (213) 821-1163

  

 

 

Judith Halberstam

Professor of English, American Studies and Ethnicity, and Gender Studies

Research Specialties: Critical Theory, Film & Popular Culture, Gender Studies, 19th-Century, Queer Studies.

Email: halberst@usc.edu * Office: THH 407 * Phone: (213) 821-1169

 

 

 

Ange-Marie Hancock

Associate Professor of Political Science and Gender Studies

Research Specialties: American Politics, Political Theory, Public Policy Race/Ethnic Politics, Gender Politics, Intersectionality

Email: ahancock@usc.edu * Office: VKC 327 * Phone: (213) 740-6998

 

 

  

Sharon Hays

Professor of Sociology and Gender Studies

Research Specialties: cultural sociology; sociology of inequality; gender studies; social theory

Email: sharonrh@usc.edu * Office: KAP 352 * Phone: (213) 740-3533

 

 

  

 

Michael Messner

Professor of Sociology and Gender Studies

Email: messner@usc.edu * Office: KAP 352 * Phone: (213) 740-8848

 

 

 

 

Sunyoung Park

Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Gender Studies

Email: sunyoung.park@usc.edu * Office: THH 378 * Phone: (213) 740-8256

 

 

 

 

Rhacel Parrenas

Professor of Sociology and Gender Studies

Email: parrenas@usc.edu * Office: KAP 352 *Phone: (213) 740-3533

 

 

 

Karen Tongson

Associate Professor of English and Gender Studies

Research Specialties: Queer & Gender Studies; Minority Discourse; Popular Culture (Pop Music, TV, Entertainment & Media Cultures); Suburban Studies; Performance; Los Angeles & the Southern California Region; Contemporary Literature; 19th-Century British Literature; Theory; Aesthetics

Email: tongson@usc.edu * Office: THH 402K * Phone: (213) 740-2817

 

 

 

Sherry Velasco

Professor of Spanish and Portuguese and Gender Studies

Research Specialties: Areas of specialization: Early Modern Spanish prose and theater; early modern women’s narrative. Interests: Gender studies, queer theory, and visual cultural studies. 

Email: svelasco@usc.edu * Office: THH 156M * Phone: (213) 740-7659

 

 

 

 

Affiliated Faculty

 

 

Michelle Gordon

Assistant Professor of English and Gender Studies

Email: mygordon@usc.edu * Office: THH 420 * Phone: (213) 740-2815

 

 

 

 

Megan Reid

Assistant Professor of Religion and Gender Studies

Email: meganrei@usc.edu * Office: ACB 235 * Phone: (213) 740-3623

 

 

 

 

Kim Shayo Buchanan

Associate Professor of Law and Gender Studies

Email: ksbuchanan@law.usc.edu * Office: LAW 474 *Phone: (213) 821-4411

 

 

 

Diana Williams

Assistant Professor of History, Law, and Gender Studies

Research Specialties: 19th Century North America; law; race; gender; sexuality

Email: diana.williams@usc.edu * Office: SOS 277 * Phone: (213) 740-9325

 

 

 

  

Associate Professors (teaching)

 

 

Diana Blaine

Associate Professor (Teaching) of Writing

Email: dblaine@usc.edu * Office: JEF 150 * Phone: (213) 821-1209

 

 

 

Christopher Freeman

Associate Professor (teaching) of English

Research Specialties: 20th century literature; the novel; memoir; literary theory; gay and lesbian studies; Los Angeles/Hollywood

Email: cefreema@usc.edu * Office: THH 404G * Phone: (213) 740-3745

 

 

 

 

Lecturers

 

Joseph Hawkins

Lecturer

Research Specialties: Japan, homosexuality, elite restaurants

Email: jrhawkin@usc.edu * Office: UUC 217 * Phone: (213) 740-4940

 

 

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

 

 

Lois Banner

Professor Emerita of History and Gender Studies

Email: lbanner@usc.edu

 

 

 

 

Gloria Orenstein

Professor Emerita of Comparative Literature and Gender Studies

Email: orenstei@usc.edu



  • Gender Studies Program
  • University of Southern California
  • Mark Taper Hall of Humanities, 422
  • 3501 Trousdale Parkway
  • Los Angeles, California
  • 90089-4352 USA