Christoph Haselwandter

Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy and Biological Sciences

Contact Information
E-mail: cah77@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-1115
Office: SSC 213B

Personal Website

Biographical Sketch

Christoph A. Haselwandter studied physics and mathematics at Imperial College London (BSc, 1999-2002) and University of Cambridge (MAS, 2002-2003), and obtained his PhD from Imperial College London on the physics of semiconductor surfaces (2003-2007). Subsequently, Dr. Haselwandter held postdoctoral appointments in the Condensed Matter Theory Group at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2007-2009) and in the Physical Biology of the Cell Group at California Institute of Technology (2009-2011). In 2012, Dr. Haselwandter joined the Department of Physics and Astronomy at University of Southern California, where his research focuses on the theoretical physics of biological systems. Doctor Haselwandter has received numerous awards and honors, including Alfred P. Sloan and Erwin Schrödinger fellowships, the NSF CAREER Award, and the Armstrong Medal & Prize.

Description of Research

Summary Statement of Research Interests
The research group of Prof. Haselwandter explores the basic physical mechanisms underlying the biological properties of living systems, with particular emphasis on the organization, dynamics, shape, and signaling properties of cell membranes. This research program is motivated by the general prospect that a physical understanding of the organizational principles underlying life will yield new fundamental insights into nature, and that a physical understanding of biological function will also suggest novel approaches for the control and quantitative analysis of living systems. Please see http://www.haselwandterlab.com for further details.
Research Keywords
1. Statistical physics of biological systems. 2. Self-organization and pattern formation. 3. Lipid-bilayer-mediated interactions between membrane proteins. 4. Regulation of ion exchange. 5. Cooperative signaling. 6. Regulation of membrane shape.

Honors and Awards

  • NSF CAREER Award, 2016-  
  • USC Zumberge Research and Innovation Fund Award, 2015-2016  
  • Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship in Physics, 2014-2016  
  • Erwin Schrödinger Fellowship, 2007-2009  
  • Armstrong Medal & Prize, 2007  
  • Max Kade Fellowship (declined), 2007  
  • Travel Grant of the C R Barber Trust Fund, 2006  
  • Valerie Myerscough Prize, 2005  
  • Tessela Prize for Software, 2002  
  • Tyndall Prize, 2002  

  • Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • University of Southern California
  • 825 Bloom Walk
  • ACB 439
  • Los Angeles, CA 90089-0484