Skip to main content

National Academy Members

National Academy of Sciences
The National Academy of Sciences was established in 1863 with the twin goals of promoting science for the benefit of the public and to provide independent counsel to the United States government on science and technology issues that affect policy decisions. Election to the Academy recognizes distinguished achievements in original scientific research and is widely considered one of the highest honors a scientist can receive. Only members are allowed to nominate scholars for election and successful nominations must pass an extensive and careful vetting process. Only 84 new members can be elected annually.

National Academy of Engineering
Under the authority of its charter, the National Academy of Sciences established the National Academy of Engineering in 1964. Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing and implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Institute of Medicine
Established in 1970 as the health arm of the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine is an independent, nonprofit organization that works outside of government to provide unbiased and authoritative advice to decision makers and the public. Tasked with the responsibility to ask and answer the nation’s most pressing health questions, the Institute of Medicine is one of the country’s highest independent authorities on medicine, medical science and health policy. For those at the top of their field, membership in the Institute reflects the highest levels of distinguished achievement, committed service, and the willingness and ability to help the Institute further its mission. Nominations are confidential and can only be initiated by existing members familiar with the scholarship and service of the prospective member. Membership is very selective as only 70 members can be elected each year.

Leonard AdlemanHenry Salvatori Distinguished Chair in Computer Science and Professor of Computer Science, Mathematics, and Biological Sciences
Richard EasterlinUniversity Professor and Professor of Economics
Alfred FischerEmeritus Professor of Earth Sciences
Robert HellwarthUniversity Professor, George T. Pfleger Chair in Electrical Engineering, and Professor of Physics
Tom JordanUniversity Professor, William M. Keck Foundation Chair in Geological Sciences and Professor of Earth Sciences
Steve KayAdjunct Professor of Biological Sciences
George OlahDistinguished Professor of Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and Donald P. and Katherine B. Loker Chair in Organic Chemistry
Larry SwansonUniversity Professor and Appleman Professor of Biological Sciences, Neurology and Psychology
Simon TavareAdjunct Professor (Research) of Biological Sciences
Arieh WarshelDistinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, and Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and Dana and David Dornsife Chair in Chemistry
Michael WatermanUniversity Professor, USC Associates Chair in Natural Sciences, and Professor of Biological Sciences, Computer Science and Mathematics