Faculty

Emily Anderson, Associate Professor of English

Research Areas: 18th century British literature, 18th-c novel, restoration and 18th-c drama, women writers, theater history and performance studies, genre, theories of authorship
Phone: (213)740-3744
Email: ehanders@usc.edu
 
Aimee Bender, Professor of English

Phone: (213)821-0477
Email: abender@usc.edu
 
Joseph Boone, Professor of English, Gender Studies and Comparative Literature

Phone: (213)740-2818
Email: josephbo@usc.edu
 
Leo Braudy, University Professor and Leo S. Bing Chair in English and American Literature and Professor of English and History

Phone: (213)740-3751
Email: braudy@usc.edu
 
Joseph Dane, Professor of English

Phone: (213)740-3750
Email: dane@usc.edu
 
Percival Everett, Distinguished Professor of English

Phone: (213)821-0477
Email: peverett@usc.edu
 
Kate Flint, Provost Professor of English and Art History

Phone: (213)740-2808
Email: kflint@usc.edu
 
Alice Gambrell, Associate Professor of English

Phone: (213)740-3737
Email: gambrell@usc.edu
 
Michelle Gordon, Assistant Professor of English and Gender Studies

Research Areas: 20th-c African American literary and cultural movements; 19th-c and 20th-c narratives of white supremacy; the interracial literary Left; freedom struggle history; black women's studies; women writers; migration, exile, diaspora studies; black aesthetics
Phone: (213)740-2815
Email: mygordon@usc.edu
 
Lawrence Green, Professor of English

Phone: (213)740-3731
Email: lgreen@usc.edu
 
Devin Griffiths, Assistant Professor of English

Phone: (213)740-2813
Email: devingri@usc.edu
 
Thomas Gustafson, Associate Professor of English and American Studies and Ethnicity

Research Areas: (Ph.D., Stanford University, 1986) Associate Professor of English and ASE: Colonial and 19th century American literature, American political discourse, literature of Los Angeles, California, and the American West.
Phone: (213)740-3747
Email: thomasg@usc.edu
 
Jack Halberstam, Professor of American Studies and Ethnicity, Gender Studies, Comparative Literature, and English

Research Areas: (Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1991) Professor of English and ASE: Critical Theory, Film & Popular Culture, Gender Studies, 19th-Century, Queer Studies.
Phone: (213)740-4592
Email: halberst@usc.edu
 
William Handley, Associate Professor of English

Research Areas: The American West; American Studies; 19th and 20th Century American Literature; Modernism.
Phone: (213)740-3733
Email: handley@usc.edu
 
Mark Irwin, Associate Professor of English

Research Areas: MONSTER: Distortion, Abstraction, and Originality in Contemporary American Poetry. Book on Contemporary American Poetry & Painting finished in November of 2013 and currently bring revised.
Phone: (213)821-0477
Email: mirwin@usc.edu
 
Heather James, Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Phone: (213)740-3740
Email: hjames@usc.edu
 
Dana Johnson, Associate Professor of English

Phone: (213)821-0477
Email: danajohn@usc.edu
 
Anna Journey, Assistant Professor of English

Phone: (213)740-2808
Email: journey@usc.edu
 
Anthony Kemp, Associate Professor of English

Research Areas: My teaching and writing mainly center on the religious and anti-religious aspects of culture, and particularly on how religion transforms into romanticism. I'm also interested in the interrelations between literature and philosophy. A dilettante of many fields, I find it difficult to stick to one period. I'm an Americanist with special interest in the transatlantic 17th century, though I also teach American 19th century and modernism, and, at least on an undergraduate level, classics and medieval. I'm interested in all culture from the most ancient texts to contemporary performance art. My first book, "The Estrangement of the Past," is about the transformations in the Christian picture of world history from the 3rd century to the beginnning of the 20th, and how the present's attitude to the past was reversed from identification to estrangement. I have two books in progress, "The Materialist Ideology: Bacon to Sade," about the extremeties of early materialism, and "The School of the Dead," a novel of gothic horror (not for reading alone on stormy nights). I am also a collector of medieval swords and a student of their use.
Phone: (213)740-3730
Email: kemp@usc.edu
 
Rebecca Lemon, Associate Professor of English

Research Areas: Renaissance literature, law, history, political philosophy, early modern addictions, and gender studies
Phone: (213)740-3732
Email: rlemon@usc.edu
 
Teresa Mc Kenna, Associate Professor of English, American Studies and Ethnicity, and Spanish and Portuguese

Research Areas: (Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1980) Associate Professor of English and ASE: Chicano/a and Latino/a literature; 20th century American literature and culture; ethnic American literature; gender and race.
Phone: (213)740-8276
Email: tmckenna@usc.edu
 
Susan Mccabe, Professor of English

Research Areas: McCabe's research specialties primarily lie in modernism, poetics, creative writing, gender and film studies, and psychoanalysis.
Phone: (213)821-0477
Email: mccabe@usc.edu
 
Edwin Mccann, Professor of Philosophy and English

Research Areas: Early Modern Philosophy, Wittgenstein, Philosophy of Mind
Phone: (213)740-5169
Email: mccann@college.usc.edu
 
Tania Modleski, Florence R. Scott Professor of English

Research Areas: (Ph.D., Stanford University, 1980) Professor of English: American Studies, Film and Popular Culture, Gender Studies, Psychoanalysis.
Phone: (213)740-2820
Email: modleski@usc.edu
 
Carol Muske-Dukes, Professor of English

Phone: (213)740-2824
Email: carolmd@usc.edu
 
Viet Nguyen, Associate Professor of English and American Studies and Ethnicity

Phone: (213)740-3746
Email: vnguyen@usc.edu
 
David Rollo, Professor of English

Phone: (213)740-3729
Email: rollo@usc.edu
 
David Roman, Professor of English and American Studies and Ethnicity

Phone: (213)740-2821
Email: davidr@usc.edu
 
Elda Maria Roman, Assistant Professor of English

Research Areas: Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies, 20th and 21st Century American Literature, Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity, Social Class Analysis, Women of Color Feminism, Popular Culture
Phone: (213)740-2808
Email: emr@usc.edu
 
John Rowe, USC Associates Chair in Humanities and Professor of English and American Studies and Ethnicity

Research Areas: (Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo, 1972) Professor of English and ASE: American Studies; Critical Theory
Phone: (213)821-5594
Email: johnrowe@usc.edu
 
Margaret Russett, Professor of English

Research Areas: Romantic literature, aesthetics, Gothic fiction, canon-formation, literary transmission
Phone: (213)740-3749
Email: russett@usc.edu
 
Hilary Schor, Professor of English, Comparative Literature, Gender Studies and Law

Phone: (213)740-3738
Email: schor@usc.edu
 
Bruce Smith, Dean's Professor of English and Professor of Theatre

Phone: (213)740-2814
Email: brucesmi@usc.edu
 
David St. John, Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Phone: (213)821-0477
Email: dstjohn@usc.edu
 
Daniel Tiffany, Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Phone: (213)740-3736
Email: tiffany@usc.edu
 
Karen Tongson, Associate Professor of English and Gender Studies

Research Areas: Queer & Gender Studies; Minority Discourse; Popular Culture (Pop Music, TV, Entertainment & Media Cultures); Suburban Studies; Performance; Los Angeles & the Southern California Region; Contemporary Literature; 19th-Century British Literature; Theory; Aesthetics
Phone: (213)740-2817
Email: tongson@usc.edu
 
David Treuer, Professor of English

Phone: (213)821-0477
Email: treuer@usc.edu
 
Marianne Wiggins, Professor of English

Phone: (213)821-0477
Email: wigginsm@usc.edu
 

Associate Professor (teaching)s

Molly Bendall, Associate Professor (Teaching) of English

Phone: (213)821-5411
Email: bendall@usc.edu
 
Richard Berg, Associate Professor (Teaching) of English

Phone: (213)740-2808
Email: rberg@usc.edu
 
Thea Cervone, Associate Professor (Teaching) of English

Research Areas: Early Modern England, with a focus on the English Reformation. Also Elizabethan poetry and drama. Area of specialization is oath swearing. Current Project: book manuscript on death, fascination, and the Renaissance. Future projects include research on Humor in the 16th century, and literary tourism.
Phone: (213)821-1163
Email: theacervone@hotmail.com
 
Michael Du Plessis, Associate Professor (Teaching) of Comparative Literature and English

Phone: (213)740-0102
Email: duplessi@usc.edu
 
Christopher Freeman, Associate Professor (Teaching) of English

Research Areas: 20th century literature; the novel; memoir; literary theory; gay and lesbian studies; Los Angeles/Hollywood
Phone: (213)740-3745
Email: cefreema@usc.edu
 
Susan Segal, Associate Professor (Teaching) of English

Phone: (213)821-5411
Email: snsegal@cox.net
 

Lecturers

Emeritus Faculty

Paul Alkon, Leo S. Bing Professor Emeritus of English and American Literature

Phone: (213)740-2815
 
Charles Berryman, Emeritus Professor of English

Phone: (818)879-4317
 
William Brown, Emeritus Associate Professor of English
 
Robert Dilligan, Associate Professor Emeritus of English

Phone: (213)740-2961
 
David Eggenschwiler, Emeritus Associate Professor of English

Phone: (213)740-2808
Email: davide@usc.edu
 
Donald Freeman, Emeritus Professor of English
 
Ronald Gottesman, Emeritus Professor of English

Phone: (213)740-2813
 
Jim Kincaid, Professor Emeritus of English and Aerol Arnold Professor Emeritus of English

Research Areas: Victorian literature and culture, sexuality studies, cultural studies
Phone: (213)740-3753
Email: kincaid@usc.edu
 
Jay Martin, Leo S. Bing Chair Emeritus of English
 
Stephan Moore, Emeritus Associate Professor
 
Marjorie Perloff, Florence Scott Professor of English Emerita

Phone: (213)740-2808
Email: mperloff@earthlink.net
 
Max Schulz, Emeritus Professor of English
 
Virginia Tufte, Distinguished Emerita Professor of English

Phone: (310)657-5380
 
  • USC Dornsife Department of English
  • 3501 Trousdale Parkway
  • Taper Hall of Humanities 404
  • University Park
  • Los Angeles, CA 90089-0354
  • Fax: (213) 741-0377