Faculty

Brian Bernards, Assistant Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3706 | bernards@usc.edu

Research Specialities: modern Chinese and Southeast Asian literature and cinema, Sinophone studies, postcolonial studies

David Bialock, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3716 | bialock@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Medieval Japanese literature, classical Japanese poetry, literature and the environment, ecocriticism

Bettine Birge, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and History
(213) 740-6660 | birge@usc.edu

Research Specialities: premodern Chinese history, gender, law, ethnicity, Inner Asia

Dominic Cheung, Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Comparative Literature
(213) 740-3708 | dcheung@usc.edu

Research Specialities: modern and classical Chinese literature, Chinese cultural studies and art

Youngmin Choe, Assistant Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 821-4807 | youngmij@usc.edu


G Clinton Godart, Assistant Professor of History, Religion and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-1657 | godart@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Modern Japanese History, Intellectual History of Japan, History of Science, Buddhism in Modern Japan

George Hayden, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3714 | ghayden@usc.edu

Research Specialities: premodern Chinese literature, text and music of classical drama, history of Chinese language

Hajime Hoji, Associate Professor of Linguistics and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3882 | hoji@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Language faculty science as an exact science, hypothesis testing and methodology in generative grammar, philosophy of science and generative grammar, Japanese syntax

Namkil Kim, Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3712 | nkim@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Korean linguistics, Korean language acquisition and pedagogy, and Korean applied linguistics

Sonya Lee, Associate Professor of Art History, East Asian Languages and Cultures and Religion
(213) 821-2582 | sonyasle@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Buddhist art and architecture of China and Central Asia, interrelationship of art and the environment, Asian art collecting

Audrey Li, Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Linguistics
(213) 740-3717 | audreyli@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Syntax, Chinese language and linguistics

Akira Lippit, Professor of Cinematic Arts, Comparative Literature, and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-8508 | lippit@usc.edu

Research Specialities: History and theory of cinema, Japanese film and culture, experimental film and video, critical and literary theory, visual culture

Lori Meeks, Associate Professor of Religion and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(323) 719-0984 | meeks@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Women, Gender, and Religion; Religious and Social History of Japan; Women’s History in East Asia; Buddhist Literature and Philosophy; Buddhist Monasticism; Japanese Literature and Culture

Sunyoung Park, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Gender Studies
(213) 740-8256 | sunyoung.park@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Intellectual and cultural history of modern Korea and Japan; contemporary Korean literature and film; Marxism; postcolonial studies; transnational feminism

Satoko Shimazaki, Assistant Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3709 | satoko.shimazaki@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Early modern Japanese theater and literature; print and visual culture; text and performance; gender representations in Kabuki

Andrew Simpson, Professor of Linguistics & East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3640 | andrew.simpson@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Comparative syntax of East Asian, Southeast Asian, and South Asian languages: Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Thai, Burmese, Vietnamese, Indonesian, Hindi, Bengali.


Adjunct Faculty

Miya Mizuta, Adjunct Assistant Professor (Teaching) of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Art History
(213) 740-4940 | mizuta@usc.edu



Affiliated Faculty

Joshua Goldstein, Associate Professor of History and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 821-2603 | jlgoldst@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Modern and Contemporary Chinese History; Urban and Environmental Studies; Drama and Performance Studies.

Joan Piggott, Gordon L. MacDonald Chair in History and Professor of History and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 821-5872 | joanrp@usc.edu

Research Specialities: premodern historical studies: Japan and East Asia; monarchy, family history, and church-state relations


Language Faculty

John Chang, Master Lecturer
(213) 740-9583 | johnwcha@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Online language learning with Adobe Flash technology Mobile learning on iPhone / iPad

Helen Chung, Lecturer
| helen.chung@usc.edu


David Desser, Lecturer
(213) 740-3707 | ddesser@usc.edu


Xianxian Fang, Lecturer
(213) 740-3707 | xianxiaf@usc.edu


Nansong Huang, Associate Professor (Teaching) of Chinese
(213) 740-3713 | nansongh@usc.edu


Mayumi Ikeda, Lecturer
(213) 740-3709 | imayumi@usc.edu


Maki Irie, Lecturer
(213) 740-3601 | mirie@usc.edu


Xiang Jian, Lecturer



Hee Ju, Lecturer
(213) 740-3707 | heeju@usc.edu


Yuka Kumagai, Master Lecturer
(213) 740-3704 | kumagai@usc.edu


Seung-Ah Lee, Lecturer



Hsiao-Yun Liao, Lecturer
(213) 740-8042 | hsiaolia@usc.edu


Christopher Magriney, Lecturer
(213) 740-3707 | magriney@usc.edu


Yumi Matsumoto, Lecturer
(213) 740-3601 | ymatsumo@usc.edu


Minnange Qin, Lecturer
(213) 740-3707 | minnageq@usc.edu


Masako Tamanaha, Assistant Professor (Teaching) of Japanese
(213) 740-3704 | mshimabu@usc.edu


Tin-Yu Tseng, Assistant Professor (Teaching) of Chinese
(213) 740-3715 | tinyutse@usc.edu


Ping Yang, Senior Lecturer
(213) 740-8042 | pingyang@usc.edu



Emeritus

Henry Tiee, Emeritus Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3707



  • Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures
  • University of Southern California
  • Taper Hall 356
  • Los Angeles, California 90089-0357

  • All photos taken by Elissa L., Yulee Kim and Ka Wong