Core Faculty


Brian Bernards, Assistant Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3706 | bernards@usc.edu

Research Specialities: modern Chinese and Southeast Asian literature and cinema, Sinophone studies, postcolonial studies

David Bialock, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3716 | bialock@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Medieval Japanese literature, classical Japanese poetry, literature and the environment, ecocriticism

Bettine Birge, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and History
(213) 740-6660 | birge@usc.edu

Research Specialities: premodern Chinese history, gender, law, ethnicity, Inner Asia

Dominic Cheung, Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Comparative Literature
(213) 740-3708 | dcheung@usc.edu

Research Specialities: modern and classical Chinese literature, Chinese cultural studies and art

Youngmin Choe, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 821-4807 | youngmij@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Korean Film and Visual Culture; East Asian Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Tourism Studies; Affect

Hajime Hoji, Associate Professor of Linguistics and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3882 | hoji@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Language faculty science as an exact science, hypothesis testing and methodology in generative grammar, philosophy of science and generative grammar, Japanese syntax

Namkil Kim, Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3712 | nkim@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Korean linguistics, Korean language acquisition and pedagogy, and Korean applied linguistics

Sonya Lee, Associate Professor of Art History, East Asian Languages & Cultures, and Religion
(213) 821-2582 | sonyasle@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Buddhist art and architecture of China and Central Asia, interrelationship of art and the environment, Asian art collecting

Audrey Li, Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Linguistics
(213) 740-3717 | audreyli@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Syntax, Chinese language and linguistics

Akira Lippit, Professor of Cinematic Arts, Comparative Literature, and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-8508 | lippit@usc.edu

Research Specialities: History and theory of cinema, Japanese film and culture, experimental film and video, critical and literary theory, visual culture

Lori Meeks, Associate Professor of Religion and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(323) 719-0984 | meeks@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Women, Gender, and Religion; Religious and Social History of Japan; Women’s History in East Asia; Buddhist Literature and Philosophy; Buddhist Monasticism; Japanese Literature and Culture

Miya Mizuta, Adjunct Assistant Professor (Teaching) of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Art History
(213) 740-4940 | mizuta@usc.edu


Sunyoung Park, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Gender Studies
(213) 740-8256 | sunyoung.park@usc.edu

Research Specialities: modern and contemporary Korean literature and film; cultural history of Korean and Japan; science fiction and fantasy; transnational socialism and feminism; postcolonial studies

Satoko Shimazaki, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3709 | satoko.shimazaki@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Early modern Japanese theater and literature; print and visual culture; text and performance; gender representations in Kabuki

Andrew Simpson, Professor of Linguistics and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3640 | andrew.simpson@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Comparative syntax of East Asian, Southeast Asian, and South Asian languages: Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Thai, Burmese, Vietnamese, Indonesian, Hindi, Bengali.


Affiliated Faculty


Joshua Goldstein, Associate Professor of History and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 821-2603 | jlgoldst@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Modern and Contemporary Chinese History; Urban and Environmental Studies; Drama and Performance Studies.

Kyung Moon Hwang, Professor of History and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-1672 | khwang3@gmail.com

Research Specialities: Modern transformation of Korea.

David James, Professor of Cinema and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-2923 | djames@cinema.usc.edu


David Kang, Professor of International Relations, Business, and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 821-4319 | kangdc@usc.edu


Joan Piggott, Gordon L. MacDonald Chair in History and Professor of History and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 821-5872 | joanrp@usc.edu

Research Specialities: premodern historical studies: Japan and East Asia; monarchy, family history, and church-state relations

Brett Sheehan, Professor of History and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 821-3128 | bsheehan@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Modern China, economy and society, money and banking, business

Jason Webb, Associate Professor (Teaching) of Comparative Literature and East Asian Languages and Cultures
| jasonweb@usc.edu


Duncan Williams, Associate Professor of Religion and East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-0272 | duncanwi@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Buddhism, Japanese religions, American Buddhism, Buddhism and the environment, Japanese-American history and religion, Hybrid Japan, social history of religion

Christina Yu Yu, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Art History and East Asian Languages and Cultures




Language Faculty

John Chang, Master Lecturer
(213) 740-9583 | johnwcha@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Online language learning with Adobe Flash technology Mobile learning on iPhone / iPad

Nansong Huang, Associate Professor (Teaching) of Chinese
(213) 740-3707 | nansongh@usc.edu

Research Specialities: Chinese Linguistics and Chinese Pedagogical Grammar

Maki Irie, Senior Lecturer
(213) 740-3601 | mirie@usc.edu


Yuka Kumagai, Master Lecturer
(213) 740-5101 | kumagai@usc.edu


Hsiao-Yun Liao, Senioir Lecturer
(213) 740-8042 | hsiaolia@usc.edu


Yi-Hsien Liu, Assistant Professor (Teaching) of Chinese
(213) 740-3707 | yihsienl@usc.edu


Yumi Matsumoto, Senior Lecturer
(213) 740-3601 | ymatsumo@usc.edu


Masako Tamanaha, Assistant Professor (Teaching) of Japanese
(213) 740-3704 | mshimabu@usc.edu



Lecturer


Emeritus

George Hayden, Associate Professor Emeritus of East Asian Languages and Cultures
(213) 740-3714 | ghayden@usc.edu

Research Specialities: premodern Chinese literature, text and music of classical drama, history of Chinese language


  • Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures
  • 3501 Trousdale Parkway, Taper Hall 356
  • Los Angeles, California 90089-0357

  • All photos taken by Elissa L., Yulee Kim and Ka Wong